top of page
emmiemoaleo

Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers

1000, 800 and 55 days, we’ve been going through something. Kendricks long awaited and anticipated album that dropped the 13th of May has been, in my opinion, the best album dropped this year so far. His album filled with meaningful and lyrical genius has swept the rap, hip-ho, R n’B, and soul genres in a one go. Starting off with “United in Grief”, a wonderful start to the album, shows that Kendrik does what he does best. When did we lose appreciation for melodic rap? There is no bad or out of place song in this album. It is an album you can listen to day in and day out and still not get tired of it. The fact that Kendrick shows to incorporate issues in the world today for each song makes it even more genius. The features in this album did not let us down either, from Amanda Reifer, Sampha, Taylour Paige, Summer Walker, Kodak Black, Baby keem, etc.. The diversity of emotion that this album gives you with every song is truly incredible.



Now to, in my opinion, the best songs in the album. “Father Time” featuring Sampha is a masterpiece. The chorus is mesmerizing and very catchy, his message carried through the song was not overlooked and nothing short of euphoric. “Mother I Sober” featuring Beth Gibbons is the only bittersweet song this album has, written so beautifully. Beth's vocals captured the intense emotion people feel when listening to this song, although I wish this was the last song on the album because of the angelic ending. It is the second last following “Mirror”. The next and last of my top three would have to be “Count Me Out”, this song reminds me of a feeling that I can not put my mind on. It is so distinctive when listening to the album. It has the same upbeat vibe carried in the song, the beginning being angelic to the switch to the acoustic guitar and the harmonized back up singers with Kendrick rapping on top of their vocals does something to the soul.


This entire album, calming, angelic, euphoric. The words I can use to praise it will never run out. 1000 800 and 55 days. We’ve been truly going through something.


By Afrikana

Recent Posts

See All

Existentialist Literature

My thought is me: that's why I can't stop. I exist because I think… and I can't stop myself from thinking. At this very moment - it's...

bottom of page