top of page
emmiemoaleo

Inhaler: Band review

As the Irish rock band Inhaler headed out on an European tour early this spring to promote their debut album “It Won’t Always Be Like This,” one of their pitstops happened to be in Copenhagen, a concert I was able to attend!


Their anticipated performance began with their title track, and by the time the frontman had started reciting the words to the pre-chorus, “Play me like a record, baby. Spin me around, turn me upside down”, it was clear that the entire audience would be leaving the venue drenched in sweat. As Inhaler’s drummer has stated himself, the song was the first they wrote together as a band. It is a perfect mix of nostalgia and madness, and it is clear that it has been perfected for quite some time. Undoubtedly, “It Won’t Always Be Like This” is well deserving of the album’s title track.




The gen z band is made up of drummer Ryan McMahon, bassist Josh Jenkinson, guitarist Bobby Keating and singer Elijah Hewson, who met and formed Inhaler while still in school. The name originates from the fact that the singer, Elijah, suffered from asthma. As a result, people started calling the group Inhalers, which eventually just stuck.

The quest of finding contacts within the music industry was not especially difficult for them, as Elijah’s father is Bono, the lead singer in the renowned rock band U2. No wonder why Elijah has those unmistakable vocals! However, the lyrical heritage did not pave their way to success. The band played many talent shows receiving little to no recognition for their love of rock music. As the band progressed from covers to songwriting, they were able to inhabit the recording studio.


My favorite songs:


  1. Cheer Up Baby

This song is perfect for my fellow overthinkers. Play this song on the loudest volume when you find yourself in one of those overthinking spirals, and tell me you don’t instantly feel better!


  1. My King Will Be Kind

Okay, I’ve got to admit. Sometimes you just wanna let all anger out with a song. This is THAT song.


  1. Who’s Your Money On? (Plastic House)

Which path should I take? Is it really worth it? This song is perfect for a younger audience, because as we are maturing we will most likely find ourselves wanting to take it slow and preserve the youth we have left. This song relates to that feeling.


By Emmie

Recent Posts

See All

Existentialist Literature

My thought is me: that's why I can't stop. I exist because I think… and I can't stop myself from thinking. At this very moment - it's...

bottom of page