top of page
emmiemoaleo

Grammy Wins!

Album of the Year

Winner: WE ARE - Jon Batiste


Emmie’s pick: Evermore - Taylor Swift

Comment: For me personally, a wildcard like WE ARE could have been expected to win this grand category. Although it is an album with less recognition than the other nominees, the Recording Academy tends to choose at least a few unexpected winners, so that the award show will remain as alluring. However, WE ARE is nonetheless a worthy winner of the category Album of the Year. Batiste has captured a soul/R&B sound unlike any other current mainstream artists. The album has the ability to enhance both chills, tears and dance moves. This great homage to Black American culture has been executed impeccably.


Diego’s pick: Donda - Kanye West

Comment: I didn't expect it to win even though yes, it’s really good. I was honestly expecting Taylor or Billie to win. WE ARE won but I’m still not forgiving them for calling Virgil Abloh a hip hop fashion designer. I'm just happy another brother won, it’s bigger than black and white.



Best New Artist

Winner: Olivia Rodrigo


Emmie’s pick: Olivia Rodrigo or FINNEAS

Comment: Considering the recognition Olivia Rodrigo has gained since the release of her first single “drivers license” in 2021, it is to no surprise that she won the category Best New

Artist. Although she is the blueprint for any current pop star, there is something entirely unique about the Gen Z singer. With a style similar to that of Avril Lavigne and a sound comparable to 2000s Alanis Morrisette, Rodrigo has established herself an eccentric brand image. Her album SOUR will undoubtedly send you into a whirlwind of emotions as it so flawlessly displays the tales of growing up.


Diego’s pick: Saweetie or Baby Keem

Comment: I’m not surprised, she has had amazing commercial success. SOUR is her debut album and with its sales figures you’d think the album came from some superstar. I’m not a big fan of her music though, I don’t see the appeal. This is also another pop star that had some success before they took music seriously, which I think will get boring soon.


Recent Posts

See All

Existentialist Literature

My thought is me: that's why I can't stop. I exist because I think… and I can't stop myself from thinking. At this very moment - it's...

bottom of page