top of page
emmiemoaleo

Are these 5 booktok books worth reading? Part 2


We Were Liars by E. Lockheart

The plottiwsts of this well-crafted book will forever haunt me, I can’t believe that actually happened. We Were Liars would be such a wonderful summer-read! In this suspense novel you meet a group of friends on a private island with a friendship that turns out to be destructive. “Read It. And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.” (from We Were Liars’ book blurb)



It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

This is a life changing book uncovering a powerful story that undoubtedly will make you cry. It is one of those books that everyone should read at least once in their lifetime. To enjoy the book to its fullest potential you should go in with as little knowledge about it as possible, just be aware that it is not one of Colleen Hoover’s usual young adult romances.



Renegades by Marisa Meyer

Renegades is not like any other book I’ve mentioned so far. It is about another society where some have extraordinary powers with a protagonist who is on a mission for vengeance. By infiltrating “the good guys” she attempts to be their downfall with the help of her allegiance to a group called “the Villains.” I would recommend this to those who enjoy YA (young adult) books and superhero movies. It was suspenseful and ever so entertaining.



They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

Such a cool concept! I loved the idea of it although the book felt a bit rushed, some more exploring of this concept would certainly be captivating. Spoiling the ending in the title might not sound as a good idea but it was honestly amazing, I still cried. In the world which this story is set you get a call the day you die. That one sentence should be enough to convince you to read it. There are many split opinions about it which I actually understand. I do believe it to be worthy of your time anyhow so please give it a try!



Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Read. It. Don’t even question if this duology is worth the read, just dive right into it. I would recommend reading Shadow and Bone before this but if you didn’t enjoy Shadow and Bone don’t let that stop you from reading Six of Crows. Leigh Bardugo has brought some wonderful characters to life. Even though I can’t recall most of the story it will still always have a special place in my heart. The only thing I didn’t quite enjoy was the long chapters but that doesn’t change my love for this duology.


By Annika

Recent Posts

See All

Existentialist Literature

My thought is me: that's why I can't stop. I exist because I think… and I can't stop myself from thinking. At this very moment - it's...

bottom of page